With the End in Mind

Dying, Death, and Wisdom in an Age of Denial

Author:
Kathryn Mannix
ISBN:
9780316504478
ISBN10:
0316504475
Publisher:
Little, Brown Spark
Language:
English
Binding:
Paperback
Publication date:
2018-12-18
Illustrated:
No

Where to buy:


Bol.com
With the End in Mind
Kathryn Mannix
11 days (€ 0,00)
€ 20,99

Amazon
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Extra information

Reviews

There are no reviews for 'With the End in Mind' yet.

Do you want to write a review about this book?

:
:
(never shown on site):

:
:

Reports

There are no reports for 'With the End in Mind' yet.


Do you want to write a report about this book?

:
:
(never shown on site):

:
:

For readers of Atul Gawande and Paul Kalanithi, a palliative care doctor's breathtaking stories from 30 years spent caring for the dying.

Modern medical technology is allowing us to live longer and fuller lives than ever before. And for the most part, that is good news. But with changes in the way we understand medicine come changes in the way we understand death. Once a familiar, peaceful, and gentle -- if sorrowful -- transition, death has come to be something from which we shield our eyes, as we prefer to fight desperately against it rather than accept its inevitability.

Dr. Kathryn Mannix has studied and practiced palliative care for thirty years. In With the End in Mind, she shares beautifully crafted stories from a lifetime of caring for the dying, and makes a compelling case for the therapeutic power of approaching death not with trepidation, but with openness, clarity, and understanding. Weaving the details of her own experiences as a caregiver through stories of her patients, their families, and their distinctive lives, Dr. Mannix reacquaints us with the universal, but deeply personal, process of dying.

With insightful meditations on life, death, and the space between them, With the End in Mind describes the possibility of meeting death gently, with forethought and preparation, and shows the unexpected beauty, dignity, and profound humanity of life coming to an end.


Related books

The End of the Mind
The Edge of the Intelligible in Hardy, Stevens, Larking, Plath, and Gluck
9781135878580 | 1135878587 | Desales Harrison
Check it out!
At least 1 offer

With the End in Mind
Dying, Death and Wisdom in an Age of Denial
9780008210885 | 0008210888 | Kathryn Mannix

With the End in Mind
Dying, Death and Wisdom in an Age of Denial
9780008245597 | 0008245592 | Kathryn Mannix
Check it out!
At least 1 offer

The End of the Mind
The Edge of the Intelligible in Hardy, Stevens, Larkin, Plath, and Gluck
9780415865128 | 0415865123 | Desales Harrison

With the End in Mind
How to Live and Die Well
9780008210915 | 0008210918 | Kathryn Mannix
Check it out!
At least 1 offer

With the End in Mind
Dying, Death, and Wisdom in an Age of Denial
9780316504485 | 0316504483 | Kathryn Mannix

With the End in Mind
Dying, Death, and Wisdom in an Age of Denial
9781549140990 | 154914099X | Kathryn Mannix

General information

Title:
With the End in Mind
ISBN:
9780316504478
ISBN-10:
0316504475
Author:
Kathryn Mannix

We use the affiliate programs of Bol.com and others to earn from qualifying purchases.